Who Pays Car Accident Compensation In Georgia?
Jon R. Hawk knows how to get the right results
A car accident can cause serious injuries that have a big impact on your life. There are medical expenses that keep going up. You may not be able to work and start losing income. Another driver’s negligence led to the accident that caused your injury, and you deserve compensation. But getting that compensation can be difficult.
Car accident attorney Jon R. Hawk helps people injured in wrecks get the compensation they deserve. He determines the true damages you’ve suffered and makes sure your recovery meets your needs. Helping people get their lives back on track is a primary goal of the Macon law firm Jon R. Hawk, Sr., LLC.
Georgia is a “fault” car insurance state. This means that in general, the driver who caused your accident is considered responsible for paying damages. What it means for you as a victim is that you have different options for seeking compensation.
In most cases, these are your options for recovering compensation:
- File a claim with your own insurance company. This is called a “first-party” claim, and it can help if you have no-fault benefits on your policy, such as medical payments coverage. But these first-party benefits aren’t always enough to pay for the full cost of an accident, especially if the injuries sustained are severe.
- File a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. But the insurance company may resist paying. They may even suggest that you were partially to blame for the accident. If they make you an initial settlement offer, it won’t come close to covering the true damages you suffered. But Jon can usually negotiate a settlement that works for you.
- File a lawsuit against the at-fault driver. There are times when the insurance company won’t negotiate. Jon is known for litigation and will fight for you in court. His legal team knows how to build a strong case that proves the other driver was negligent.
Whatever action you decide to take, it’s important not to delay. The statute of limitations in Georgia for personal injury lawsuits is 2 years from the date of the accident—4 years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit for property damage.
Another factor to consider is that Georgia uses a modified comparative negligence rule. This means you can be partially responsible for causing the accident, but can still collect damages. But your recovery will be reduced by the amount of your responsibility. For example, if your recovery is $100,000, but you were found to be 10 percent at fault for the accident, you would receive $90,000.
Jon is always focused on getting the results that are right for you. Call 478-757-6536 to set up a free consultation. Learn how Jon can help your case.